Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 29

Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.29
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1909-1966, relating to institutions in Williamsburg, Virginia including William and Mary, Matthew Whaley School and Bruton Parish Church collected by Cynthia Barlowe and Raymond Kimbrough.

Dates: 1909-1966
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Cynthia Barlowe Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2001.19 and 2002.63
Scope and Contents

Collection of photographs, newspaper clippings, publications, postcards and other items relating to Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1902-2001
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Coleman-Wilson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 96 C67
Scope and Contents Letters, chiefly 1919-1964, written by Mary Haldane Begg Coleman (1875-1967) of Williamsburg, Virginia, to Julia Gardiner Tyler Wilson (1881-1965), of Charlottesville, Virginia. Diaries of Mary Haldane Begg Coleman and Isabella Haldane.Other correspondents include Janet Coleman Kimbrough, Mary H.B. Coleman's daughter and Alida Wilson Davidson, the daughter of Julia Gardiner Tyler Wilson.Scrapbooks containing information on John Tyler, Tyler descendants, and the Tucker...
Dates: 1775-1989; Majority of material found in 1883-1964
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Craftsmen of America's Freedom Stamp Collection

 Collection — Box: Small Collections Box 110, Folder: 1
Identifier: SC 01674
Scope and Contents First day issue of 2 (out of 4) color prints of commemorative stamps issued by the United States Postal Service on July 4, 1977, featuring craftspeople from the colonial era: the blacksmith, leatherworker, seamstress and wheelwright (the latter two are not included in the collection). Includes letters from Colonial Williamsburg president, Carlsine H. Humelsine, Fleetwood Stamp Company president, James A. Helzer, a biography of the artist, Lyle Tayson, and a small booklet about the stamp...
Dates: 4 July 1977
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Mr. and Mrs. Donald W. Davis Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1994.91
Scope and Contents Items relating to early twentieth-century College of William and Mary, Colonial Williamsburg, and Williamsburg High School. A few items are from the Ayres family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Invitation of Colonial Williamsburg, Incorporated, dated 1935; brochure for Tidewater, Virginia, invitation of The College of William and Mary to address given by Samuel Black McCormick (Chancellor of the University of Pittsburgh), undated; postcard of the Peninsula Bank and Trust Company,...
Dates: 1911-1994; Majority of material found in 1911-1944
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Duke of Gloucester Street Photograph

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.61
Scope and Contents

A 12" x 17" black and white photograph of a scene on Duke of Gloucester Street near the Capitol Building, probably taken during the filming of "Williamsburg:  The Story of a Patriot" in 1957.

Dates: 1957
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Earl Gregg Swem Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 79 Sw4
Scope and Contents Papers, 1927-1965, of Earl Gregg Swem, librarian and historian. Includes correspondence, reports, poems, and newspaper clippings. Subjects covered by the collection include Virginia history, bibliography, American Library Association, Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, Colonial Williamsburg, College of William and Mary, Phi Beta Kappa, Virginia Colonial Records Project, Virginia Historical Society, Jamestown Festival, Hampton Celebration, and the Virginia Historical...
Dates: 1927-1965
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

B. Floyd Flickinger Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.341
Scope and Contents Papers of B. Floyd Flickinger, Superintendent of the Colonial National Historic Park.  Letters, memos, reports, speeches, documents, photographs, and other material related to the creation and operation of the Colonial National Historic Park in Yorktown, Virginia.  Material on archaeology at Jamestown and the expansion of the National Park Service.  Personal papers which include Flickinger's position at the Technical Training Service at the Quartermaster School during World War II, his...
Dates: 1927-1950
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Geddy-Harris Archive Records

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2013.112
Scope and Contents

This collection contains deeds, abstracts of title, wills, and other legal documents from the law firm of Geddy, Harris, Franck & Hickman in Williamsburg, Virginia. The bulk of the material consists of abstracts of title to real property located in Williamsburg, Virginia, and nearby counties, including the Historic Area of Colonial Williamsburg, from the 1920s to the 1950s, as well as deeds to properties in Williamsburg and nearby counties from the 1880s to the 1950s.

Dates: 1773-1959; Majority of material found in 1890-1940
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Donald J. Gonzales Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 99 G59
Scope and Contents

Scrapbooks containing newspaper clippings, engraved invitations, drafts of newspaper articles, and press correspondents' membership cards. One volume contains War Department communiques, 10 December 1941-23 May 1942. Collection contains "The Rockefellers at Williamsburg" (EPM Publications, Inc., 1991) by Gonzales.

Dates: 1940-1991
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Virginia B. Haughwout Papers

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1997.17
Scope and Contents Correspondence and legal papers, 1951-1955, of Mrs. Virginia B. Haughwout of Williamsburg, Virginia, about the construction of a "Virginia Gazette" building on her property on the Duke of Gloucester Street. Correspondence is chiefly with her lawyer Robert T. Armistead and Kenneth Chorley, President of the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Includes memorandum of argument on behalf of Colonial Williamsburg, Inc., prepared by the firm of Hunton, Williams, Gay, Moore and Powell, 6 June 1955,...
Dates: 1951-1955
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Institute for Historical Biology Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 237
Scope and Contents

This collection contains reports related to the Institute for Historical Biology, a part of the Anthropology Department at the College of William and Mary. The reports include "Assessment of Human Remains from Archaeological Site 44YO2," "Report on the Human Remains Recovered from Block 23CB on Colonial Williamsburg Property," and "Analysis of Two Human Skeletons from Smith's Fort, Bermuda.

Dates: 2003-2004; Majority of material found in 2003-2004
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

A. Edwin Kendrew Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01234
Scope and Contents

Pamphlets and brochures from Colonial Williamsburg, plus various invitations and programs for Williamsburg area events.

Dates: 1930s-1950s
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William E. Land Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.164
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a scrapbook that belonged to William E. Land, class of 1941, while a student at the College of William and Mary. Included in the scrapbook are photographs of William and Mary buildings and grounds, students, Commencement, and Colonial Williamsburg buildings. There are also loose photographs and an article from 1972 regarding Land's appointment as Judge of the Municpal Court in Danville, Virginia.

Dates: circa 1937-1972; Majority of material found in 1937-1941
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Lee Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children.  An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee. ...
Dates: 1858-1976; Majority of material found in 1900-1950
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Lester J. Cappon Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 C17
Scope and Contents Materials relating to the career of Lester Jesse Cappon (September 18, 1900-August 24, 1981), historian and formerly the Archivist for the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, Williamsburg, Virginia, Director of the Institute of Early American History and Culture, and Senior Research Fellow at the Newberry Library, Chicago, Illinois. Professional papers (1909-1981) include primary source material, typescripts, notes, drafts of articles, critiques, maps, and historical journals....
Dates: 1809-1981
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Morecock Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 M81
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1881-1937 and n.d., relating to the history of Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown, Va. collected by members of the Morecock family of Williamsburg, Va. Includes photographs, pamphlets, Christmas cards, postcards, and wood-cut prints depicting the Powder Magazine, Bruton Parish Church, the Courthouse of 1770, the Yorktown Monument, the church tower at Jamestown as well as souvenirs of the Yorktown Centennial, 1881 and the Jamestown Exposition, 1907.

Dates: 1881-1937
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Elizabeth Nunn Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1991.51 and 2000.33
Scope and Contents

Papers of Elizabeth Nunn, an elementary school teacher in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1931-1975
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Peacock Hill Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2013.116
Scope and Contents

This collection contains correspondence, newsclippings, research notes, and other material related to the attempt to classify the Peacock Hill neighborhood of Williamsburg, Virginia a historic landmark. Also included are maps of the neighborhood as well as a copy of the signed petition for Colonial Williamsburg to build townhomes that compliment, not replace, the homes in the Peacock Hill neighborhood. Most of the material is from 1982.

Dates: 1976-1982
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

J. Randolph Ruffin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1998.58
Scope and Contents

Papers of J. Randolph Ruffin. Newspaper clippings, brochures, drafts of speeches, correspondence about Virginia history, the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, and tours directed by J. Randolph Ruffin, Director of Special Events for the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Accessions 1998.58 and 1999.22 WHRA.

Dates: 1956-1993
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Howard Scammon Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1992.38 and additions
Scope and Contents This collection consists of correspondence, clippings, photographs, programs, playbooks and other material collected by William and Mary Theatre professor Howard Scammon. The bulk of the material is correspondence between Scammon and his former students, but the papers also include documentation related to the William and Mary Theatre, The Common Glory, the Jamestown Festival of 1957, other Williamsburg theatre groups and famous William and Mary alumni such as Glenn Close and Linda Lavin. ...
Dates: 1917-1994; Majority of material found in 1940-1970
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

J. Palin Thorley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00076
Scope and Contents The papers of J. Palin Thorley contain personal and business papers, legal and financial papers, photographs, studio notes, drawings and sketches, ceramics, and artifacts. Joseph Palin Thorley was an internationally known potter who supplied the Craft House museum shop with reproductions of eighteenth-century antiques from Colonial Williamsburg’s collection. The collection largely relates to Thorley's pottery work and business, documenting his creative and scholarly process. For an enhanced...
Dates: 1910-1987; Majority of material found in 1930-1986
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Tyler Family Papers, Group B

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group B
Scope and Contents Papers, 1868-1951, of Lyon Gardiner Tyler, his wives Anne Baker Tucker Tyler and Sue Ruffin Tyler and his descendants. Includes personal correspondence and correspondence relating to American Historical Association, Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, Colonial Williamsburg, Cooperative Education Commission of Virginia, Equal Suffrage League of Virginia, Jamestown Exposition, New York Southern Society, Sons of the Revolution, Virginia Board of Education, Virginia...
Dates: 1868-1951
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Virginia Cities Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82ci
Scope and Contents

Artificial collection of papers relating to various cities in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Dates: 1663-1980
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Mary Elizabeth McGinnis White Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00662
Scope and Contents Papers, 1938-1994, of Mary Elizabeth Maginnes White. Includes Colonial Williamsburg picture ID; bronze medal, 1983 for Summit of Industrialized Nations, 1983 letter thanking her for her efforts in making the Summit successful; photograph, ca 1944, of Mathew Whaley students, photographs, 1994 of 50th reunion of Mathew Whaley students; newspaper clipping, 1994, concerning reunion; invitation and graduation photograph, 1994; program 1994 junior-senior banquet; issue June 5,1944, of the Powder...
Dates: 1938-1994
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Names: Colonial Williamsburg Foundation X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 14
Photographs 13
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 13
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 7
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 7
∨ more
Reports 6
Scrapbooks 6
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 6
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 5
Jamestown Festival (1957) 5
Newspapers 5
Pamphlets 5
Clippings (information artifacts) 4
Legal documents 4
Letters (correspondence) 4
Notebooks 4
Programs 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Christmas cards 3
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 3
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 3
Jamestown 350th Anniversary 3
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 3
Poems 3
World War, 1939-1945 3
Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century 3
Account books 2
College of William and Mary--Students 2
College theater--United States 2
Design drawings 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 2
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 2
Financial records 2
Fliers (printed matter) 2
Greeting cards 2
Historic buildings--Conservation and restoration--Virginia--Williamsburg 2
Invitations 2
Jamestown Exposition (1907) 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Maps 2
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Obituaries 2
Printed ephemera 2
Speeches 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 2
Virginia--History--20th century 2
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Colonial Period--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Restoration 2
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Siege, 1781--Centennial celebrations, etc 2
African American physicians 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Alexandria (Va.)--History 1
Anthropology 1
Archaeology--Methodology 1
Archivists 1
Artifacts 1
Artisans 1
Artists--Virginia 1
Birthday cards 1
Blue Ridge Springs (Va.) 1
Booklets 1
Books 1
Broadsides 1
Buildings and Grounds--Lake Matoaka Ampitheatre 1
Business records 1
Buttons (information artifacts) 1
Campbell County (Va.)--History 1
Capitol (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Catalogs 1
Certificates 1
Charlottesville (Va.)--History 1
Charter Day 1
Christmas--United States 1
Church bulletins 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
Commemorations 1
Community theater 1
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Continential Congress 1
Danville (Va.)--History 1
Danville (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Declaration of Independence 1
Deeds 1
Diaries 1
Diplomas 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 1
Engravings (Prints) 1
Europe--Description and travel 1
Fredericksburg (Va.)--History 1
Gardening--Virginia 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 9
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
College of William and Mary. 4
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 3
Barlowe, Cynthia Beverly Tucker Kimbrough 2
∨ more
Coleman family 2
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 2
Kimbrough, Janet C 2
Adams, John, 1735-1826 1
American Historical Association 1
American Library Association 1
Archaeology 1
Begg family 1
Blayton, James Blaine, Sr., (Dr.) 1
Board of Supervisors of James City County (Va.) 1
Camp Peary (Va.) 1
Cappon, Lester Jesse (1900-1981) 1
City Council of Williamsburg (Va.) 1
Close, Glenn, 1947- 1
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 1
Coleman, Mary Haldane Begg, 1875-1967 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Anthropology 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 1
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 1
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 1
Crump family 1
Daughters of the American Revolution 1
Davison, Alida Wilson 1
Dept. of Anthropology 1
Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
Dovell, Grover Ashton, 1885-1949 1
Dunlop family 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 1
Elizabeth II, Queen of Great Britain, 1926- 1
Equal Suffrage League of Virginia 1
Flickinger, B. Floyd, 1905-1992 1
Franklin, Benjamin, 1706-1790 1
Geddy, Vernon M., Jr 1
Gonzales, Donald J. 1
Goodwin, William Archer Rutherfoord, 1869-1939 1
Grace Street Gardens (Richmond, Va.) 1
Haldane, Isabella 1
Haughwout, Virginia B. 1
Howe, Henry, 1816-1893 1
Hughes, Robert M. (Robert Morton), b. 1855 1
International Order of the King's Daughters and Sons 1
Jamestown Church 1
Jamestown Corporation 1
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 1
Kimbrough, Janet C. (Janet Coleman) 1
Kimbrough, Raymond, 1889-1993 1
King's Daughters (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Lavin, Linda, 1937- 1
Lee Family 1
Lee family 1
Lee, Edward Myers 1
Lee, Edward Myers, Jr 1
Lee, Elizabeth Mallory, 1902- 1
Lee, Peticolas, 1904- 1
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 1
Long, William Ivey 1
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 1
Michaux, Lightfoot Solomon 1
Molineux, Will 1
Morecock family 1
National Archives (U.S.) 1
New York Southern Society 1
Newport News Women's Club (Va.) 1
Nicholson High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 1
Page, Delia Bryan 1
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 1
Powell, William Devens 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Richmond Theatre (Richmond, Va.) 1
Rockefeller, John D. (John Davison), 1874-1960 1
Ruffin, J. Randolph 1
Scammon, Howard, 1911-1999 1
Smith, Estelle 1
Society of American Archivists 1
Sparks, Jared, 1789-1866 1
The Virginia Comedians 1
Tucker 1
Tyler Family 1
Tyler, Anne Baker Tucker, 1860-1921 1
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 1
Tyler, Sue Ruffin 1
US Army Quartermaster School 1
United States Postal Service. Commemorative Stamp Club 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry Regiment, 25th 1
United States. National Historical Publications and Records Commission 1
United States. National Park Service 1
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Virginia Historical Society 1
Virginia House of Delegates 1
Virginia Shakespeare Festival 1
Virginia. High Court of Chancery 1
Wakefield National Memorial Association 1
+ ∧ less